Year End Book Review – Part 2

Title: The Chronicles of Narnia (All seven volumes). The Magician’s Nephew; The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe; The Horse and His Boy; Prince Caspian; The Voyage of the Dawn Treader; The Silver Chair; The Last Battle.

Author: C.S. Lewis

Publisher: HarperCollins

Page Count: 767

Readability: Easy

Genre: Fiction

Synopsis: A fictional series based in the mythical land of Narnia where animals talk, witches loom, magic flourishes and lions reign.  It is a place where men coexist with centaurs, minotaurs, dwarves and fauns.  C.S. Lewis pens seven volumes primarily following the adventures of the four Pevensie children: Peter, Susan, Lucy and Edmund as they discover a portal to a wondrous new world at the back of a wardrobe.  Many people call Lewis’ work a Christian allegory but that’s not quite accurate. Not every figure and event represents an element of the Christian life.  I’ve read that Lewis approached his books by asking the question, “What would Jesus Christ be like in a world like Narnia?”  The answer, of course, comes in the form of Aslan, the noble lion who directs all things according to the counsel of his own will.  Chronicles is not allegory but is full of biblical allusions.  The Chronicles of Narnia was written for children, but can (and should) be enjoyed by people of all ages.

Kudos/Knocks:  Lewis is a true joy to read and even children should not have much trouble tackling these volumes for themselves.  Narnia is an enchanted place that every reader will long to visit.  I enjoyed every volume, but some more than others. Below I will list all seven books in order from most loved to least loved, with a few words about each. Continue reading